Can you smell the cookies?

I’m glad the Catholic Church defines the Christmas season as the time from Christmas Day to the feast of the Epiphany.  That meant when we baked Christmas cookies on Dec. 26th (yes, that’s the feast of St. Stephen), I was able to tell the kids that we really were baking Christmas cookies and not just Advent cookies!  So they threw themselves into frosting, decors and sprinkles with glee and I got out of the way.  Three dozen frosted, decorated cookies later, I helped them clean up the mess and told them that I have three dozen more gingerbread cookies in the freezer that we can bake, frost & decorate when we run out of this batch.  They were delighted.  I’ll have to shop that section of the frozen foods department more often.  And a big thank you to Martha Stewart for being such a big fan of royal icing.  I found the recipe quite easily on her website and it was the perfect icing for this job.  I’m looking forward to spending the rest of the Christmas season with my spouse and kids.  And eating lots of cookies.

Today, I’m thankful for friends who like us, warts and all.

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,209 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
