A trying time in Spanish

Well, report cards came home last week and DD2’s spanish grade was down by more than 2 letter grades!  I was livid!  After asking all the appropriate questions, Why didn’t you ask for help? Why didn’t you study harder? Why didn’t you …?, DD2 responded that she didn’t know why her grade was that low.  I then emailed the teacher to request that she shed some light on this situation since DD2 was being uncooperative.  After a couple of emails back and forth, it dawned on me that the teacher thought I was a different mother.  A quick email back to clear up the situation and then I got a phone call from the teacher.  We cleared up the mess and got down to the nitty gritty about why DD2’s grade was so low.  I also found out that she wasn’t the only one and that half of the class was struggling.  So I had DD2 go down to the office to pick up a note from me that she needed to clean out her desk and locker (organizational skills are also not a top priority for her), find her test that I was supposed to sign and she was supposed to correct and wait for me at her classroom.  She cleaned out her desk, tossed the test in the garbage (ostensibly to avoid me or her dad seeing it and the resulting fireworks) and waited for me at her room.  I picked her up after school and asked her where the test was, then got smart and asked when she had thown it away, made her dig it out of the trash, took it home and made her correct it.  We have now explained that turning her work in late is not acceptable and she needs to bring home things when the teacher tells her to do so.

There is a passage in the bible, in the gospel of Matthew, that talks about the narrow gate.  “Go in through the narrow gate.  For the gate is wide and the road easy that leads to destruction.  The gate is narrow and the road hard that leads you to salvation.”  I’ll have to share this with DD2.  Hopefully it will have some impact on her actions.

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,435 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
