Update on the weight loss

Apparently illness and weight loss go well together.  I weighed myself  yesterday and I am down another four pounds.  That’s 15 pounds of weight lost since mid October.  Not bad.

I’ve kept up with the portion control and since I’m not into denial, I haven’t craved too many foods.  Since starting the antibiotics for strep last Friday, I lost my sense of smell for the past four days.  This may not sound like a bad thing, but when you can’t smell anything, your tastebuds go haywire as well.  This, IMHO, sucks!  I have a hard time cooking food without my sense of smell because I season foods based on what smells good with that particular food.  No sense of smell equals a poorly seasoned meal.  And without my sense of smell, I might as well be eating cardboard, since that’s what everything tastes like to me.

Oh well, maybe this will equate to more weight lost.  BTW, my sense of smell finally returned around 2pm this afternoon.  I was browning up some ground turkey for the freezer and suddenly, I could smell again.  Praise God!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shoestringalley
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 12:58:34

    Every cloud and all that! I hate not being able to taste anything – it is miserable. Glad to hear you are feeling better though 🙂

  2. apieceofwood
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 14:50:13

    Well done on the loss since October – that’s great!

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,287 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
