Ugh, stomach bugs!

DS is home tonight.  He was supposed to sing with his classmates in their school’s Spring Program.  However, he is throwing up his breakfast instead.  At least I think it’s his breakfast, the color is right for cocoa puffs. 

I can always tell when he’s not feeling well.  My generally white anyway kid goes pasty pale.  Only death should be this colorless, it’s downright scary.  And the poor kid just wants a drink of water, but the one thing I’ve learned is that if you want to keep them from throwing up for an even longer period of time-don’t give a vomiting person water.  For some reason, it just prolongs everything.  I’ve got a cup of ice chips and a spoon next to his bed and he is allowed to suck on the ice chips.  Now you’re going to say, “but ice is just frozen water”.  Righto!  10 points for paying attention in science class!  But since the ice has to melt before he can swallow it, the water goes into his system much slower than if I gave him a glass of water with instructions to sip it slowly.  Trust me, kids don’t always follow instructions especially when they’re really thirsty.  I had tried to get him to take a Pedialyte freezer pop earlier but he said, and I quote, “This just isn’t working for me.”  He’s a hoot even when ill.  He really did say it with a straight face and in all seriousness.  The kid cracks me up.  He is in his bed and I’ve darkened his room so he can sleep and I think he just might.  Checked him just a minute ago and his eyes are shut, so here’s hoping he gets the rest his body needs to fight off whatever this stomach bug is.

Since the rule is that a child has to stay home for 24 hours after the last vomitting episode, he won’t be able to go to school tomorrow.  I’m glad this didn’t happen next week.  He would have cried if he had missed out on Track & Field Day.

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,211 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
