Hummingbirds

A friend asked me about hummingbirds, so I thought I’d share a couple photos I took of a hummingbird at the feeder in our front yard.

Female hummingbird at feeder

Female hummingbird at feeder

 

Breakfast with a view

Breakfast with a view

Hummingbirds are very cute, and in the case of our nesting pair, a bit cheeky too.  I’ve been “buzzed” a few times this summer by the male.  I think he wanted to know who was getting so close to “their” feeder.  Hummingbirds around here are very possessive of their feeder.  I’ve watched ours dive at another hummingbird that was trying to feed at that feeder in the flower garden.  The male had the other bird practically pinned to the ground with his dives. 

As for how to get a picture of a hummingbird, you just have to be in the right place at the right time.  As you can see, my photos of them are when they are at our feeder.  Catching them actually in flight would require reflexes that I don’t possess.  Happy bird watching!

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,212 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
