I’m Thinking of Dyeing My Hair. . .

Thanks to the ever idiotic individuals in this world.  Why can’t people just ask “what is it?” when they don’t  recognize a handmade article instead of postulating what it might be and getting it utterly and completely wrong?

I was at Wal-Mart the other day (I know, what did I expect there) and the greeter asked if I was making a return.  I said no, I just needed to bring the hats with me to pick out buttons for the sweaters.  She apparently didn’t hear what I said because she looked at the hats and asked if they were Barbie dresses!

Did I not say that they were hats?  Do I look like I need a blue rinse? 

I would never and I mean never knit clothes for a fashion doll!  I just don’t see a need to knit for something my kids aren’t even interested in playing with anymore.  I didn’t see a need to knit things in that scale when they were playing with them.  I don’t do dolls!  Arrrgh!

But I just explained to her again that they were baby hats and that the matching sweaters needed buttons and then went to the sewing and craft area to see what they had.  I had picked up buttons a week ago when DH & I went to town for a fundraiser dinner, but I wanted to make sure that I had the best buttons for those sweaters so I checked out the selection at Wal-Mart, since that was where I found the monkey buttons for an earlier sweater.  Didn’t find better buttons, but I did find some items for future crafting endeavors.

Oh, and I am definitely not dyeing my hair or getting a blue rinse.  The idiots of the world will just have to get a brain.  Or some common sense.

Edited to add:  If you’d like to see the sweaters in question, here are the pics.

PB070394

Sweater and hat for Jill & Allen’s baby.

PB070402

Sweater & hat for Lisa & Jake’s baby (who we now know is going to be a boy).

PB070404

Folded and ready for wrapping!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nan
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 23:02:17

    Thanks for the laugh!

    When we were kids people did knit for Barbie. Not that I had a Barbie, but I saw plenty of Barbie knits at craft shows.

  2. thefrenchchick
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 13:22:38

    Wait til I have a minute to post the photos of the sweaters and hats.

    The I-cord ties on the hats would be the equivalent of wrapping Barbie’s waist with the steel cables they use to secure ore boats to the dock in Duluth!

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,212 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
