Half done, half to go

Catching up with the work after a long weekend of feasts & Masses is always tough.  With all the preparation for Christmas, the laundry was the last thing on my list.  And Christmas Day, as well as Sunday, is a day of rest.  So with three days of rest in the past week, and another two coming up on Jan 1st & 3rd, I needed to get that mountain turned into a mole hill and fast.  Along with the usual 8-9 loads of clothing, I also needed to get the bedding washed.  My preference is to get clean sheets & pillow cases on the beds every two weeks and do the whole bed (sheets, blankets, quilts, pillowcases and mattress pad) once a month.  Doing the whole bed, for three beds, literally doubles the laundry to 18 loads.  I got 8 loads done yesterday and hope to get the remaining 10 done today.  It’s going to be close, but if a load or two has to get done tomorrow, at least the job will be done for another week.

Other than that, I’ve been trying to work out a new system for organizing my household chores.  I’m a list maker at heart and if I have list, then hopefully everything gets done (if not on the appointed day, at least at some point).  So here’s what I’ve come up with:

Monday:  Dusting, vacuuming, clean bathrooms

Tuesday:  Laundry, write out menus & grocery lists

Wednesday:  Mass & adoration, finish laundry

Thursday:  Epic & Kitchen, iron clothes, mop floors

Friday:  Grocery shopping & errands, touch up cleaning

Saturday:  Cooking/baking for freezer meals, decluttering the house

Let’s see if this works.  My hope is that by dividing the tasks up by day, the whole thing won’t seem so big a job. 

The grocery shopping can be moved to Wednesday or Thursday if needed as long as the items aren’t perishables needed for the Saturday cooking session.  I originally had the ironing set for Monday, then decided that it didn’t make sense to wait a week after doing laundry to iron, so I moved it to Thursday (although procrastinating is something I do well).  Touch up cleaning might be anything from getting the house ready for guests to just making sure the floor gets an extra mop & shine for the weekend and the carpet doesn’t look scruffy. 

I put in the Saturday cooking session because I’ve become lax in getting meals into the freezer and I really want to get that bit of sanity back into my life.  When I have something ready(or nearly) in the freezer and have planned to serve it (Tuesday’s menu planning session) then the “What’s for supper?” dilema isn’t so pressing and I’m less likely to want to order in.  Having food ready in the freezer is healthier for us and better for the budget.

Both of Saturday’s tasks are labor intensive, but I’m hoping to get myself down to one monthly cooking session and one monthly baking session, which would leave me with two Saturdays per month to declutter the house.  If I can devote the entire day to just decluttering, I could hopefully get the house done before summer.

Realistically, I know that we will have some Saturdays where we will be gone and I won’t be able to do either task, but that’s why I scheduled those on Saturday anyway.  They are the tasks that are the easiest to skip without having the house fall into chaos or the kids run out of clothes to wear.

So, I have a plan and now I have to work the plan until it becomes habit.  Then maybe I’ll have time to grab a cup of coffee with friends without feeling guilty.  Wish me luck, pray for me too.

Enjoy the New Year and all the promise it brings.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elvin Crotzer
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 19:53:02

    Hey mate. I don’t follow many blogs, but yours is of thefew I read.Have a nice day!

  2. Jovan Ludwick
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 01:34:05

    Hello, I browsed your website while searching bing for coffee. Your website is really cool and I like the theme. Just thought would let you know that I have subscribed to your rss feed. Thanks

  3. thefrenchchick
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 11:40:15

    Elvin, thanks for dropping by. It’s nice to know people enjoy my ramblings.

    Jovan, thank you for visiting. I did need to edit out the website though. I prefer not to advertise products here. Thank you for respecting that wish.

  4. Kendrick Iredale
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 12:48:18

    I’m really searching for this details. Lastly, I found it and many thanks to you.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,212 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
