For those desperate for an update

Sorry for the long absence.  It’s been busy here in the midwest, very busy.  I’ve been planning for our spring break trip, trying to get the taxes done and in general, volunteering way too much.

The planning stages for the trip are nearing their deadline, so it’s put up or shut up time.  I still need to make several hotel reservations but have been hampered by DH’s need to get the best deal.  He wants to use some kind of discount card his mother found, but hasn’t given me the info so that I can make the reservations.  Most hotels won’t honor a discount if you don’t mention it up front when making the reservation (at least not the ones we frequent).  So hopefully he gets the info to me soon.

Heidi, the young mother whose twins died at birth, is doing much better.  She still has a long way to go; physically, mentally,and  emotionally.  Her physical recovery has been difficult due mainly to having to relearn many tasks such as eating and walking.  Her mental recovery has been sporadic but improving.  Her short term memory was almost completely erased so when the doctor told her about the twins death, she at first thought that her older son had died.  And of course, the emotional side has been tough.  Dealing with sadness at the death of her babies and the frustrations of recovery.  Please keep her in your prayers.

The tax stuff, while given to me early this year, has still managed to frustrate me.  TurboTax will never again be my go to program for getting my taxes done.  Last year we paid just over one-half what TurboTax has supposedly calculated as being due this year, in spite of making less money this year.  When I spoke with DH about it, we’re looking at going back to the Block for our tax preparation this year.  I think it will be worth it.  I like the ability to go paperless and all, but I may just pick up all the forms and instructions from the library next year and have one last go at doing our return myself.  It’s not that hard, it’s just annoying that the tax software that is supposed to be helping me isn’t a help at all.  Is anyone else out there starting to think TurboTax is marketed by the government?  Why else would the program not try to help you keep every red cent you’ve earned?

As to the volunteering, yes I do know how to say no.  I just don’t say it very often.  Or maybe not often enough.  The thing is, if I have time to do the task needed, I just don’t see a reason not to volunteer to do it.  That’s going to have to change though.  Because after spring break, I’m starting a job.  Just a part-time, temporary job.  But it’s a start.  And it’s income in my pocket.  ‘Cause let’s face it, I could use a few things to help me corral the chaos around here.

I’m still in the decluttering phase.  I recently gave 5 boxes of fabric away to a single mom who, yes really, loves to sew.  I still have one box that will be going to the charity that calls me first when I finally get enough other stuff together to justify them coming out to pick it up.  I also have just over two boxes of fabric to sew up into clothes.  Mostly for Ditty, but some for BooBoo and I too.

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,284 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
