Updates & such

Sorry for the long wait.  I’ve been working on our parish festival.  Glory Days seems to have been a huge success on the feedback portion anyway.  I don’t know yet what the numbers look like or whether we turned a profit from it.  All of the feedback that I’ve received has been very positive.  People enjoyed the bands, liked the games that were offered, even enjoyed the tv set up in the beer garden so they could watch the various sporting events they all seem to follow.  Personally, if it was me, I would have tuned in a good movie.  I don’t understand the whole “must watch professional sports” thing.

Volunteer coordination, my area, went fairly well.  Since the whole sign in before your shift thing was new this year, as were the waiver forms, people on the whole did well with it.  I’m really convinced after this waiver form thingy that we don’t have to worry about Muslims taking over the world (the latest rant from the extremists).  I fully believe that when you can’t even volunteer your time without signing a waiver, that says in general that you won’t sue the church/school if you get injured during the course of your volunteer shift, the lawyers have already taken over the world.  And we know they won’t give it up without a fight.  A vicious, nasty fight.  So we should be safe from the advancing hordes of fanatics.

The Monday after Glory Days, I had set aside as a day to relax.  Vegetate.  Do absolutely nothing.  Then BooBoo missed the school bus.  Okay, I can still keep my pajamas on and drive him to school.  Done and back home, I settled in with a cup of coffee and a good book, Mattimeo by Brian Jacques.  Then the doorbell rings.  Really!  Today!  Didn’t absolutely everyone I know get told that today was my “do absolutely nothing” day? 

It was a Jehovah’s Witness.  Okay, since we’re not on speaking terms, that would explain why she didn’t get the memo.  In fact after asking her what this was all about, I only managed to grunt the word No several times and shut the door on her.  I returned to my book and coffee.  Then the phone rings.  Yes, it’s turning into one of those days.  Should have unplugged the darn thing.  Too late now.  I answered and it was an automated call from a credit card company.  I need to update our listing on the National Do Not Call registry.  Yes, we really have one of those on this side of the pond.  We can thank the annoying telemarketers for that at least.

I did manage to throw together a dinner that night.  Pork roast in the crockpot, leftover mashed potatoes and some green beans.  The kids gobbled it up.  The mister was working again.

Tuesday, I woke up with this cold.  I felt it coming on Monday but I was in denial.  Still proof that no good deed (giving up my life to our parish festival) goes unpunished.  In spite of the cold, I’ve nearly finished the laundry, cleaned the bathrooms, Swiffered the floors and picked up milk.  Forgot to buy more tissues though.  Had to have DH pick more up last night.  Made chicken vegetable barley soup last night, so I’m going to settle in with a cup of that, some herbal tea and my box of tissues and ride this thing out.

Hope you are all well and healthy.  Enjoy your weekend.

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,247 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
