Pray, eat & love; a food post

As you know, I’ve been trying to bring the faith to life with our children by celebrating the feast days of saints with special meals.  This could be a daunting task if we celebrated every feast day of the year since there are very few open days on the calendar.  So I got busy and wrote down some of the things we like to do and looked up the patron saints of those things and we will begin by simply celebrating the witness of those individuals to Jesus.

Since we love to be in the out-of-doors, whether camping, hiking or picnicking, we needed a patron saint of the out-of-doors.  Well, there wasn’t one that I could find, so I decided that St. Francis of Assisi would be as close as we could get.  Because Franciscans take a vow of poverty, the meal needed to reflect that with simple and inexpensive food being the focus as well as food from St. Francis’ native Italy.

So what to make?  Minestrone!  Minestrone is mainly vegetables in broth with some pasta.  Not much could be cheaper or more simple than that.  Now since my kids tend to balk at soups to begin with, I needed to make something they would be happy to eat also.  Grilled cheese sandwiches, not very Italian I know, but at least they fit the “simple” criterion.  The kids actually enjoyed the meal, DH not so much but he survived on three grilled cheese sandwiches.

I am also trying to celebrate the various Marian feasts throughout the year.  My biggest source of recipes and ideas comes from Catholic Cuisine.  You can check out their blog by clicking their RSS feed on the right.

Since I also like to prep meals ahead, all I need to do now is coordinate my saints’ & marian feast days into my regular food prep schedule.  Right now, the freezers are full so the feast day menus will have to be items I can make easily.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Outdoor Camping
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 02:20:03

    I love chocolate and peanut butter (with or without each other!) Movies..I dont see many here but I loved…Outdoor Camping.

  2. videos divertidos
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 12:31:29

    Is this WP theme free or premium? nice blog btw!

  3. thefrenchchick
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 22:32:41

    This is one of the free themes available with WP. The header image is my own photo and is under copyright to me. Thanks for visiting.

  4. burger king king
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 22:13:05

    I hope you have a nice day! Very good article, well written and very thought out. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,212 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
