Now that’s scary!

Well, it’s Halloween and the ghosts and goblins abound.  Well, in our neighborhood its more pirates and princesses really.  BooBoo went trick or treating tonight dressed up in his knight’s costume from two or three years ago.  Yes, I did make it big on purpose although he can no longer fit a winter coat underneath it as he could the first year.

Ditty on the other hand opted not to go trick or treating this year.  Both DH & I tried to cajole her into one last Halloween hurrah, but she wasn’t having any of it.  Her friend had stood her up and she said that she wasn’t in the mood to go.  She did ask if she could climb up the tree in front of the living room window and shake the branches when the trick or treaters came by.  She’ll be the one to enjoy a trip up north sometime to see the haunted ore boat.  She definitely did not want to go trick or treating though.

And then this afternoon, I found out the real reason why she didn’t want to go out.  Ditty had gotten her first period.  That monthly scourge of women everywhere.  And the requisite cramps too.  So that’s why mine was early.  You did know that women who live in close quarters cycle together didn’t you?  It must be some form of protection for the menfolk who have to endure us during this time so that they don’t have to constantly worry about ticking us off.  But I digress.

Up to this point, my little girl has been . . . well . . . my little girl.  Now that this has begun, it just puts her that much closer to being grown up.  That’s what I’m not sure that I’m ready for.  The boys, the dating, the going away to college, etc.  Rats!  I wish I could have had one more year of peace of mind.  But the reality is that I’ve known this was coming.  We talked about hygiene last summer, so I knew that this “milestone” couldn’t be too far down the road.

And how appropriate to have this happen on Halloween-the scariest night of the year.  No zombie or butt-kicking alien from outer space could top the fear factor of this happening.  Here’s hoping that you’re at least somewhat prepared when it’s your turn.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nan
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 23:28:53

    Tell Ditty that drinking milk alleviates cramps. I don’t know why, but it works. Someone told me that a couple of years ago and I wish I’d known that when I first got my period.

  2. thefrenchchick
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 12:09:15

    Thanks Nan, I will. She’s been pretty nonchalant about the whole thing. I guess I managed to prepare her better than I prepared myself 🙂 Good to hear from you again.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,287 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
