Freezer Cooking, part 2

Okay, here are the pics I promised:

This is the worksheet that helps me keep track of what I have in the freezer.  We actually have two freezers, a chest type (where everything gets lost in the bottom) and an upright (where everything gets lost in the back).  I do prefer the upright freezer because moving things out of one shelf to get at food in the back is much less hassle than moving all the food on top only to find that the food at the bottom has freezer burn.  I mainly use the chest freezer to  store large items, breads and bags of shredded cheese.

And this calendar is a reminder of what I’m making and when, so I know when an item is used up and need to make more.

I also try to vary what I make by the seasons:  Spring brings the less heavy meals, Summer brings lots of meats in marinade for the grill, Fall & Winter bring hearty soups, stews and casseroles.

Oh, I also need to say thanks to Sam over at Thy Will Be Done  for this lovely pork roast with apples recipe.

Sorry the roast is still raw in the picture.  I would have taken a pic of the finished product, but the family gobbled it up too fast.  Really delicious!  I topped the roast with craisins instead of the mixed dried fruit in the original recipe.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sam
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 19:52:52

    I am so glad you liked it…wasn’t it so easy!!!

  2. thefrenchchick
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 09:30:24

    It was great! I didn’t even remember to put it in the crockpot. I put it in a slow (325 degree) oven for about 1 1/2 – 2 hours and it came out great. The kids put the fruit on top the pork as a relish and ate that too.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,287 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
