Advent preparations

It’s time for me to begin preparing for Advent.  Since Halloween caught me unawares this year and only half of the decorations even made it out of the storage bins, I’m not going to have that happen with Advent.

So here’s my conundrum:

Last year I made an Advent countdown calendar, the perpetual type that I can just reconfigure each year.  The problem this time is how to fill those 27 tins this year.  Last year, we had a plethora of chocolates.  Yes, I do like chocolate-a bit too much really.  This year I’d like to do something that is kinder to my waistline and the kids teeth.  So I thought of adding to the slips of paper with family activities would be nice.  I had some from last year:

Bake Cookies

Decorate the tree

Decorate the house

Watch a Christmas movie (we apparently have three since there were three slips of paper with this suggestion)

Listen to a Christmas story (I know we have more than one Christmas story, but only one slip of paper with this activity)

Have cookies & cocoa (cider) for a snack (this got in there three times as well)

Wrap gifts for our extended family

Play a game that (BooBoo, Ditty, Mom & Dad) chooses

Now I need some ideas for other things to do.  Every idea is welcome.  Low to no cost ideas are my favorites since this isn’t supposed to be about material acquisitions.  It’s more about staying close and appreciating the gift of family.

So what do you think would make a good addition to my list?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nan
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 17:30:50

    Bake gingerbread

    Make a gingerbread house

    Make a snowman

    Have a snowball fight

    Make a snow fort

    Make snow angels

    Go ice skating

    Sing Christmas songs

    Set up creche

    String popcorn and cranberries for tree

    Go to Adoration

    If your parish has a giving tree and you’re in a financial position to buy gifts, buying gift(s) for giving tree or some other charitable gifting

    Bake cookies to give to someone else

  2. thefrenchchick
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 12:43:21

    Thanks Nan. I knew I could count on getting good suggestions from you.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,211 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
