Success is a delicious meal

As I drove home from work last night, all I could think about was how we didn’t have time for dinner.  I was seriously thinking about making that call to Domino’s and ordering pizza so that I could have the 25-30 minutes of sanity time before they delivered and I needed to rush everyone to the table to eat.

Then I walked in the door and smelled a most delicious smell-beef roast.  No, DH didn’t get a wild hair and start cooking a meal.  I had totally forgotten in the chaos of the day’s schedule that I had put a roast in the crockpot that morning to cook while the kids were at school and I was working.  Don’t worry, if I had called the kids to meet me in the driveway to go out to eat, one of them would have reminded me about the crockpot.  I’m sure they would have.

The results of that crockpot endeavor yielded a very moist, tender, delicious and surprisingly simple beef roast.  Yes, I’m going to share that recipe with you. 

Yesterday morning, I took a beef roast out of the freezer.  Popped it in the crockpot frozen.  Added the obligatory 1 cup of water (the crockpot’s directions say that you must add water to protect the stoneware from sudden changes in temperature if cooking meats from a frozen state).

Then I wondered how to season the roast.  I like to do things up a little differently from time to time just to keep us out of a rut.  Well, my usual method would have been to toss in a packet of dry Italian dressing mix, cover the crockpot and cook it on Low that way.  It’s very good.  So is a packet of dry Ranch dressing instead of the Italian.  See, two new recipes already.

But yesterday, the Italian and the Ranch would have involved opening a fresh box of dressing mix.  Yes, this does speak to the epitome of laziness, but I didn’t feel like opening a box.  There, I’ve said it.  So I looked at the other seasoning packets sitting in the little container in my cupboard and realized that I have an awful lot of brown gravy mixes in there.  Well, it’s beef roast, I thought.  Beef roast is certainly good with brown gravy.  So I opened a packet after reading how much water to add to the mix (1 cup, how fortuitous).  Then I went to my spice shelf and grabbed the dried rosemary.  I crumbled about 1 1/2 teaspoons of rosemary on top of the gravy mix and beef roast.  Popped the cover on and told the 24 year old to turn the crockpot on Low at 9am.

When I got home at 4:45pm, the smell was heavenly.  I didn’t have time for potatoes, so I made buttered noodles as a side along with a peas & carrots blend for the vegetable.  All three kids pronounced it delicious.  So this will also go into the archives as a “recipe” we’ll serve again.

To recap:

1 two and a half to three pound beef chuck roast, frozen

1 cup water

1 packet dry brown gravy mix

1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons dried rosemary, crumbled

Cook on Low for 6-8 hours in a crockpot.

Serve with whatever you have the time to cook 🙂   Sit back and enjoy the compliments.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bet365
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 00:39:37

    hi I was luck to search your Topics in digg
    your topic is quality
    I get much in your Topics really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really outstanding
    where can find it

  2. thefrenchchick
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 08:25:32

    Thank you for the nice comments. The theme is Koi. It’s one of the many themes for WordPress blogs. The header picture is my own photo of the Washington DC cherry trees in bloom from a family vacation there.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,209 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
