Crocheted Tree Skirt

The tree skirt is finished.  Actually, it was finished right before the first Sunday of Advent.  But I didn’t have time to take a picture of it right away.

I used the stitch pattern for Retro Ripples Skirt from the Nov/Dec 2009 issue of Crochet Today.  I changed up the colors somewhat.  I used Red Heart Holiday yarn in Red/Red, Green/Green and White/Silver.  The original pattern used the red and green yarns along with Aran/Gold and Hunter/Gold.  I didn’t like the off-white yarn or how dark the hunter green looked with the other colors, therefore, the change up.

I also kept to a pattern regarding color changes.  I worked six rows of one color, then two rows of the next, four rows of the third color, then back to the first color but only two rows this time.  The 6-2-4-2 pattern meant that each of the three colors would have both a six row section and a four row section (except the white).  Here’s the picture:

I took the photo with the tree skirt spread out on our bed.  If the tree the boys bought ever stops shedding its needles, I might put the tree skirt under it.

Of course since I’m hosting a party on Sunday, I might have to use the tree skirt to hide all the needles on the floor.

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,284 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
