Belief

“First there was a time when we believed everything, then for a little while we believe with discrimination,then we believe nothing whatever, and then we believe everything again-and, moreover, give reasons why we believe.”  Georg Christoph Lichtenberg (1742-1799)

My sister-in-law and I have been having a rather public discussion with my oldest daughter recently about the Catholic faith and what the Catholic Church believes and holds true.  On Facebook, no less.  Rather rough for everyone, especially when her non-Catholic friends (or maybe some of her Catholic friends haven’t been instructed correctly) have chimed in.  It seems that a vocal minority have views that directly oppose the Bible on this subject and yet, they seem to think that they can interpret Scripture to affirm their beliefs.

Eldest daughter was the one who originally posted the viewpoint, her aunt and I simply want her to look deeper into the subject and understand why the Church says it is wrong.  She has done no digging into the subject.  Nor has she had anything to say in the “discussions” that followed.  Those were instigated by the “friend”.  There are things I can overlook (like her current sparkly vampire fixation) and there are things I can not (her public viewpoint on this issue) and I will take my kids to task on the ones I can not and offer them instruction so they can better understand their faith.

Saying a prayer that she sees the light!  In the meantime, I will keep doing what the quote above says, believing and offering up my reasons for belief.

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,287 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
