An IPP for that

“There’s an app for that!” 

I forget which cell phone carrier first started using that line.  It came back to me this weekend as I was sitting, sleep deprived, on my bunk at Girl Scout camp.

I hadn’t gone to bed until 12:30a.m. and woke up at 3:30am thanks to being in a strange bed minus DH and forgetting my sleeping pills.  It was now 6 a.m. and I figured that if I’m going to be awake I might as well look over the training info I would be presenting to the adults that day.

As I was sitting there, I began thinking about all the people with smart phones and how every time you turn around there is someone (or a billboard) proclaiming “There’s an app for that!”.   I began thinking that for everything a Cadette age level Girl Scout wants to learn, guess what?  There’s an IPP for that!  The badges the girls earn at Cadette level and above are called Interest Project Patches or IPP’s for short.

Now if I can just get National on board with this saying, maybe they will stop pushing Journeys down our collective throats and proudly re-embrace the traditional Girl Scout Handbooks and Badge books.

After all, when it comes to Girl Scout traditions: “There’s an IPP for that!”

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,247 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
