Yellowstone, the conclusion

The end of the trip was magical.  We found two of the formations I had seen 30 years ago as a young teen on a youth group camping trip.  The drive home was also beautiful.

On the final day of our stay in Yellowstone, Ditty and BooBoo were sworn in as Junior Rangers, having completed all of the program requirements.  We also found out about a Girl Scout & Cub/Boy Scout badge that they can earn.  It should be listed on the National Park Service webpage.  We’ll have to go check that out.

And yet there was still more to see.  Firehole Falls on the Firehole River.

With this bison on the path, it seemed like my wish to see two of the sights from my past trip would go unfullfilled.  But we managed to get safely around the big guy.  And saw this:

Fairy Falls.  In spite of the difficulty in finding it, the bison on the trail, having to remove my moccasins due to the very wet trail and the remarks of several other people  (“She doesn’t have the right shoes for hiking!”  I mean really!  Have you never walked in moccasins before?  They are totally the right shoes for me on a long trail, since comfort is key to my walking any distance.),  I was beginning to think I wasn’t meant to see this again.  Perseverance!  That’s my last word on it.

Oh look, more bison.  Thankfully, we were already here:

Imperial Basin.  When I was here 30 years ago, this was known as Imperial Geyser.  The name change didn’t help me in finding it again either.  Glad we did though.  Sometimes it’s nice to revisit an area to see if it still looks the same.  Fairy Falls did.  Imperial did not.  And I would have sworn there were boardwalks here thirty years ago, but either they took all the boardwalks out or my memory of the hike was confused with the many other hikes we did on that trip.

Grand Prismatic Spring.  Yes, it sure is!  This is one spot where the name truly fits the scene.

The drive home took us through Montana’s butte country,

and Theodore Roosevelt National Park in North Dakota’s Badlands,

Wild mustangs at Teddy Roosevelt National Park.  We didn’t go into the park itself, just flew by on the Interstate.  DH said that we need to make this park a vacation destination someday.  I agree, it would be another fun camping trip.

That’s all for our trip to Yellowstone.  If you can’t make it there yourself, www.windowsintowonderland.org does have e-fieldtrips appropriate for grades 5-8, ages 11-14 on their website.  One caveat though, they are not as thorough an experience of Yellowstone as we got by going there.  So make time for this trip.  You won’t regret it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cooperstown
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 10:30:51

    I just got back from Yellowstone as well. I loved Grand Prismatic and all the wildlife. Can’t wait to go back!!

  2. true religion outlet
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 23:26:01

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  3. true religion outlet
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 03:33:14

    An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

  4. thefrenchchick
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:42:20

    @Cooperstown: Glad you enjoyed your trip. I’ll bet you’re having as hard a time as I did in narrowing down pictures to share. But as the photo lab tech in Target said to me; “It’s a nice problem to have.”.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,286 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
