The General Disaster

“One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.”  A. A. Milne

Yeah like the discovery that you haven’t entered two months worth of utility bills in the check register.  Good thing I buried some money in there so I wouldn’t have to deal with even the possibility of an overdraft fee.

But seriously, the disorganization has got to stop.  My brand new bookcases (three of them) have helped somewhat.  I still need two more to get all of our books and my cookbooks housed but that will need to wait until those cases go on sale again. 

Thankfully they should do that just about the time our bank balance is back up again.  I have to pay for the kids school this Wednesday.  That plus our trip to the state fair, renaissance festival, a plethora of camping trips this month and one more in September will put that balance lower than it has been in a long time.  Glad to be working!

Ditty, BooBoo & I are at the State Fair today.  I bought my ticket ahead of time to save $3 on my admission fee, picked today because it’s Kid’s Day and I could then save another $3 each on their admission fees by purchasing their tickets at the gate, scoped out the closest park free-ride free lots so that we could save another $12 on the parking fee (technically, I could have bought 2 advance adult admission tickets and used one for parking thereby making the parking fee $9, but this is my first time going to the fair and I wasn’t aware that parking on-site was so expensive).  I wanted a close lot so that if need be, we could walk there from the grounds-although I don’t really want to hoof it 2.34 miles back to the vehicle after tramping around all day at the fair.  Oh, I also bought a state fair coupon book for $4 instead of waiting and having to buy one for $5 saving another dollar.  Redeeming just 2 or 3 coupons will more than pay for the cost of the book and the rest of the coupons are just icing on the cake, the strawberry shortcake!  Yes, there’s a coupon for that 🙂  And I think I saw a cheesecake coupon too.

DH has been to the fair and decided he’d rather go to work.  He dislikes crowds, and heat, and crowds, and expensive prices for cheap food, and of course, crowds.  I, on the other hand, have never been to the fair.  No, really, never!  I know it’s hard to believe, but my dad didn’t like driving in the Cities, my mom didn’t drive and up until now, I either had the time but didn’t have the money or had the money but didn’t have the time.  Or the kids were too young for any of us to enjoy the fair.  I really don’t see the point in bringing really young kids to the fair.  You’re either pushing them in a stroller or trying to coax them to walk just those last 200 feet back to your bus stop so you can get home before you kill them for whining most of the day.  I would rather hire a baby sitter and go enjoy the day myself.  But Ditty and BooBoo are old enough not to whine and young enough to really get the magic and wonder of a fair.  So we three are going to be in the midst of it all and soak it all in while trying several different foods.  My strategy being to bring some extra plastic forks & spoons and maybe, one plastic knife and dividing every food item we buy into thirds so we can all eat some without gorging on one particular thing.  And I’m going to try to keep them off the carnival rides so that hopefully, they won’t get sick and need to go home early.

Wishing for that beginner’s luck today!

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,287 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
