The Diet

“I’ve been on a diet for two weeks and all I’ve lost is two weeks”   Totie Fields

Well, let’s hope that doesn’t happen to me.

It’s been a long time since I’ve written about weight loss.  Mainly because I haven’t been trying to lose weight lately.  I haven’t even been trying to maintain the weight that I had lost a couple of years ago.

That needs to change. 

Today I started the first 17 day cycle of  The 17 Day Diet.  This may be the most difficult time for me.  The first cycle cuts out all sugars (except low sugar fruits), all dairy (except for probiotic yogurt & fat free/low fat cottage cheese), and all grains.

Chicken & fish will be my main dietary staples, as will lots of vegetables and 2 fruit servings each day.  Water will become my drink of choice rather than the drink I choose when there’s no more coffee in the pot or juice in the fridge.

Why go through this?  Because I’m 5’5″ tall and currently weigh in at 210 pounds.  There, I’ve said it.  I am obese and I must lose this weight to regain my health.  I’ve had back pain since last May that hasn’t gone away completely ever since that time.  I carry most of the excess weight around my middle-which any doctor will tell you is bad and can contribute to heart disease.

I hate making New Year’s resolutions to diet simply because I feel it sets you up to fail.  Think about it.  Are you done with holiday celebrations just because it’s January 2nd?  If your life is like mine, probably not.  That’s why I waited to start this diet at a time when the party circuit would be waning.  I hope that will help me to have more self control and a better attitude about the food I eat.

My goal is to lose 10 pounds per month.  If I can do this, that would mean a 50 pound weight loss by the beginning of summer here in the great, white, frozen north.  I would be down to 160 pounds, a weight I have not seen since I was pregnant with Ditty (for those who haven’t been keeping track-she’s 13 years old).

Exercise is also a part of The 17 Day Diet.  For this first cycle, the commitment is to exercise once per day, every day for 17 minutes.  And it must be aerobic exercise because that helps your body burn the weight off.  It also gets you into the habit of moving your body.  That’s important because you can’t lose weight permanently without developing an exercise habit.

So, here I go.  Wish me luck.  And if you’re the praying type, pray that I succeed.  I’d like to be around to dance at my children’s weddings and dangle the still ethereal grandkids on my knees (the kind of knees that don’t hurt because they’ve been carrying an overweight grandma around for the five minutes it took to walk from car to couch).

Comments are closed.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,211 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
