Beauty and the Beast Jr.

“If history repeats itself, and the unexpected always happens, how incapable must Man be of learning from experience.”  George Bernard Shaw

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”  Douglas Adams

The second quote is just in case this post only makes sense to me.  🙂

I realized that with the updates on DH’s cousin and my diet attempt, I haven’t updated this blog with news on Ditty & BooBoo.  They are both in their school’s production of Beauty & the Beast Jr.  Ditty’s part was originally to be a Narrator and fill in dancer during the opening “Belle” scene and also in the “Gaston” tavern scene.  But fate being what it is, she was standing next to the Baker when they first rehearsed the opening scene and the Baker said his line “Marie, the baguettes!  Hurry up!” at which time, the director realized that there was no Marie to rush over with the baguettes.  So Ditty became Marie.  Then I was watching them run the Gaston scene and  realized they had put her behind the bar.  So if the Baker married the Barmaid, did he do it for love or just to have a monopoly on the yeast and wheat?  LOL.  She is having lots of fun with this play and also has to be part of the “Mob’ scene too.

BooBoo was cast as a “Guest” meaning he could have been anything from a plate, knife, fork or spoon, to a cheese souffle, pie, or pudding en flambe.  He was also scheduled to be a fill-in dancer/singer for the “Mob’ scene (where Gaston exhorts the crowd to kill the Beast).  Instead he was placed in all the castle scenes as an enchanted column (yeah, the Roman pillar kind).  He gets to move around: forward, backward, and side to side (enchanted things move), with little shuffling steps.  This takes him out of the Mob scene since he needs to be in his column costume in every castle scene and the changing would need to happen too fast for him to keep up.  But he is also happy with his part and thinks it will be great fun to keep people guessing where the column will be next.

So that’s the news of the household so far.  Rehearsals, swimming lessons, scouts and wrestling are keeping us running.  BooBoo’s new bedroom is practically on hold right now.  I keep thinking that I can get to it if I can just get caught up with the housework and costuming for the play.  Our Costumer put me in charge of the fairies and the villagers (including those who have parts in the Mob scene but might not be villagers in the Belle scene).

Finding leotards for the fairies is proving difficult.  It would be easiest just to order what we need brand new, but budget constraints don’t allow for all new costumes.  So the core group of volunteers have been scouring thrift stores in search of what we need.  It hasn’t worked, so I will be speaking with the director to work out an alternative color scheme for the fairies.  I may have to work out something entirely different for our lead fairy, the Enchantress, because I was just informed yesterday that she is allergic to spandex.  Kind of puts a kibosh on the whole leotard thing for her.  We don’t need a red-skinned (and I mean beet red) Enchantress.  Thinking on it just now, maybe we could just attach the skirts to t-shirts and have the girls wear shorts under the skirts if needed.

Well, here’s to success in convincing the director to go for the changes!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My Homepage
  2. Willetta Wirch
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 05:43:26

    I think what you typed made a bunch of sense. But, what about this? suppose you added a little information? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you added a title that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean Beauty and the Beast Jr. TheFrenchChick's Weblog is kinda boring. You could look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write post headlines to get viewers to open the links. You might add a video or a related picture or two to grab readers excited about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it could bring your posts a little livelier.

  3. thefrenchchick
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:09:37

    Thanks for your comment and your visit. Video upgrade isn’t in the works, simply because I’m too cheap to pay for a blogging platform. Some posts do contain pictures. Our Yellowstone trip, blogged in 3 parts, has several.

Perfectly Preserved In Perpetuity

Friends, Romans, Countrymen

  • 8,212 interested parties

Quotes:

"If you are what you should be you will set the whole world on fire."
St. Catherine of Sienna

I finally understand

"Among those around you, apostolic soul, you are the stone fallen into the lake. With your word and your example, you produce a first circle, and it another, and another, and another, wider each time. Now do you understand the greatness of your mission?" St. Josemarie Escriva: The Way
